Archived News: 2017

January

Taunton Deane MP Rebecca Pow reflects on 2016 and looks ahead to 2017Somerset County Gazette, Sunday 1 January 2017

Taunton Deane MP Rebecca Pow reflects on 2016 and looks ahead to 2017This is the West Country, Sunday 1 January 2017

New garden town for Taunton gets the go-aheadSomerset County Gazette, Sunday 1 January 2017

Taunton to become one of three new Garden Towns - what does this mean?, Somerset Live, Monday 2 January 2017

New garden town Taunton gets the go-ahead but what did readers think of the news?Somerset Live, Wednesday 4 January 2017

Taunton gets garden town status - the document that won the daySomerset County Gazette, Thursday 5 January 2017

Panel to tackle 'green' questions, Wellington Weekly, Wednesday 18 January 2017

Rebecca Pow signs Book of Commitment to honour Holocaust victims, Somerset County Gazette, Tuesday 24 January 2017

REACTION: Parliament must vote on triggering Article 50 Brexit talks, Somerset County Gazette, Tuesday 24 January 2017

Ministry of Cake trends on Twitter, thanks to Taunton Deane MP , Somerset County Gazette, Wednesday 25 January 2017

Rob Wilson says government wants to 'amend' National Citizen Service targets, Third Sector, Wednesday 25 January 2017

Wellington HSBC branch set to close next month, Somerset County Gazette, Thursday 26 January 2017

LETTER: We need to move now to make Taunton a town to be proud of , Somerset County Gazette, Saturday 28 January 2017

 

February

MP for Taunton Deane Rebecca Pow reacts to Donald Trump state visit to the UK, Somerset County Gazette, Thursday 2 February 2017

Pow ‘sad’ to see town bank close, Wellington Weekly, Sunday 5 February 2017

Taunton Deane MP Rebecca Pow backs new laws to control breeding and selling puppies, This is the West Country, Monday 6 February 2017

IVORY DEBATE: Antiques trade defended in parliamentary debate on UK domestic ivory market, Antiques Trade Gazette, Tuesday 7 February 2017

Taunton Deane MP Rebecca Pow welcomes greater protection for ancient woodland, Somerset County Gazette, Monday 13 February 2017

Taunton's Ministry of Cake receives letters of thanks from Boris Johnson and Gavin Williamson for chocolate fudge cakes, Somerset County Gazette, Tuesday 14 February 2017

Guests step to it at dinner-dance, Wellington Weekly, Friday 17 February 2017

Taunton MP Rebecca Pow reacts to the home office stunting Dubs amendment for child refugees, Somerset County Gazette, Friday 17 February 2017

Pow tunes in to the power of 10, Wellington Weekly, Saturday 18 February 2017

CAFOD's Doug Lowe, of Henlade, meets Taunton Deane MP Rebecca Pow to discuss climate change, Somerset County Gazette, Wednesday 22 February 2017

Government Growth Deal awards £6.7 million to upgrade Taunton's Toneway from J25 to Creech Castle, Somerset County Gazette, Thursday 23 February 2017

LETTER: Thank you to Taunton MP and staff, Somerset County Gazette, Saturday 25 February 2017

Sajid Javid visited Wells for launch of Tories Somerset County Council election manifesto, Somerset County Gazette, Sunday 26 February 2017

Rebecca Pow, MP for Taunton Deane, calls to end flooding terminology "one in 100 years", This is the West Country, Monday 27 February 2017

 

March

Rebecca Pow, MP for Taunton Deane, sparks laughter in the House of Commons after asking Speaker John Bercow if he showered, This is the West Country, Wednesday 1 March 2017

Everyone lost it when John Bercow was asked about his shower habits in PMQs, BT News, Wednesday 1 March 2017

Shower habits leave Bercow in a lather, The Times, Wednesday 1 March 2017

PMQs 1st March – We didn’t come down in the last shower, The London Economic, Wednesday 1 March 2017

PMQs recap: Theresa May and Jeremy Corbyn trade blows over 'nasty' denial of disability benefits to 150,000 people, The Mirror, Wednesday 1 March 2017

Watch the moment speculation over the speaker John Bercow's shower habits brings the house down, The Belfast Telegraph, Wednesday 1 March 2017

Speaker's bathroom routine becomes unlikely PMQs topic, BBC News, Wednesday 1 March 2017

Microbeads in the spotlight!, Greenpeace, Thursday 2 March 2017

Never-used regional fire centre at Blackbrook Business Park, Taunton, costing taxpayer £2million a year, Somerset County Gazette, Thursday 2 March 2017

Taunton Deane MP Rebecca Pow secures Westminster Hall debate on microbeads, Somerset County Gazette, Monday 6 March 2017

Why Brexit is not a piece of cake for Ministry of Cake, The Financial Times, Thursday 9 March 2017

Cosmetics firms urge UK to limit microbeads ban to rinse-off products, Chemical Watch, Tuesday 14 March 2017

MP for Taunton Deane calls for online shopping button for British products only, Somerset County Gazette, Wednesday 15 March 2017

Supermarkets could soon have online "Buy British" buttons post-Brexit, Retail Gazette, Wednesday 15 March 2017

Marine A, Alexander Blackman, from Taunton, has appeal reduced from murder to manslaughter..., Somerset County Gazette, Wednesday 15 March 2017

Wife's joy as Sergeant Blackman is cleared of murder - thanks to Mail readers who raised £800,000 for legal fight, The Daily Mail, Wednesday 15 March 2017

 

April

Tory voters want environmental regulations maintained after Brexit, The Guardian, Tuesday 4 April 2017

Events across the county to celebrate Somerset Day on May 11, Somerset County Gazette, Saturday 8 April 2017

General election: what can Britain learn from France’s results?, Channel 4, Monday 24 April 2017

What to look out for in the 2017 local elections on 4 May, New Statesman, Tuesday 25 April 2017

All Party Horticulture group secretary details election industry priorities, Horticulture Week, Thursday 27 April 2017

Party time at bowling club, Wellington Weekly, Thursday 27 April 2017

Transport Secretary Chris Grayling heralds multi-million investment in Taunton infrastructure, Somerset County Gazette, Thursday 27 April 2017

Wellington Bowling Club names as the best in the South, Somerset County Gazette, Thursday 27 April 2017

Conservatives' hard right Brexit plans: UK's great leap backwards to 'dirty man of Europe', The Ecologist, Thursday 27 April 2017

Rare chance for horticulture sector to lobby politicians in 'listening mode', Horticulture Week, Friday 28 April 2017

 

May

Question time for candidates, Wellington Weekly, Saturday 27 May 2017

Business Election Hustings taking place in Taunton, Somerset County Gazette, Monday 29 May 2017

Labour manifesto 'garden tax' concerns raised, Horticulture Week, Tuesday 30 May 2017

 

June

Taunton Deane prospective parliamentary candidates express their views on budget cuts to Somerset schools, Somerset County Gazette, Thursday 1 June 2017

Labour's land tax 'would increase cost of food in UK', says NFU, Farming UK, Monday 5 June 2017

In the general election which West Country MPs won and lost seats? Bristol Post, Thursday 8 June 2017

Somerset picks its new MPs following General Election 2017, Somerset County Gazette, Thursday 8 June 2017

Great Picnic in Longrun Meadow, Taunton... Somerset County Gazette, Tuesday 13 June 2017

Somerset MPs Jacob Rees-Mogg, David Warburton and Rebecca Pow asked to explain why they all blocked housing amendment, Somerset Live, Friday 16 June 2017

Calls for empty fire HQ in Taunton to be occupied, BBC News, Friday 23 June 2017

Rebecca Pow discusses agriculture with new Defra Secretary Michael Gove, Somerset County Gazette, Friday 23 June 2017

Fire safety in council homes on agenda, Wellington Weekly News, Thursday 29 June 2017

 

July

Taunton Deane MP Rebecca Pow meets Transport Secretary Rebecca Pow to discuss A358, Somerset County Gazette, Wednesday 5 July 2017

Highways England chose 'cheapest and worst' A358 proposal, BBC News, Thursday 6 July 2017

Pow will be eyes and ears of Ministers, Wellington Weekly News, Friday 7 July 2017

Taunton Deane MP Rebecca Pow backs Guide Dogs campaign to cut pavement parking, Somerset County Gazette, Sunday 9 July 2017

LETTER: 'Only way to make renting affordable in Taunton is to stop being greedy', Somerset County Gazette, Sunday 9 July 2017

Minister announces T-levels delay, FE Week, Thursday 20 July 2017

 

August

Arts minister impressed by ambitious plans for Taunton's Brewhouse, Somerset County Gazette, Monday 14 August 2017

Wellington food and drink festival sets out stall for big day, Wellington Weekly News, Sunday 27 August 2017

You're never too old - Older Generation Fair, Somerset County Gazette, Tuesday 29 August 2017

 

September

EU Withdrawal Bill: Green groups keep up pressure on the government, Business Green, Wednesday 6 September 2017

MP demands answers over patient mistreatment probe at Dene Barton Community Hospital, Somerset Live, Thursday 7 September 2017

Milton grants Somerset MPs emergency meeting with funding agency, FE Week, Friday 8 September 2017

Mendip MP joins forces with other politicians, Chew Valley & Wrinting Vale Gazette, Friday 8 September 2017

Put gardening at the heart of policy making, Tory MPs tell Whitehall in Theresa May backed report, The Telegraph, Friday 8 September 2017

New Conservative Environment Network 'fails to drill down into fracking and climate policy',The Ecologist, Monday 11 September 2017

Species Champion, Rebecca Pow, BBC Wildlife Magazine, September 2017

DfE discussing 'options' to reverse provider's £3m funding cut, FE Week, Wednesday 13 September 2017

Four Somerset MPs join forces to fight £3.5m adult education cut, Bridgwater Mercury, Tuesday 19 September 2017

D-Day for controversial 1,600 home plans for Staplegrove, Taunton, Somerset County Gazette, Wednesday 20 September 2017

Freeman’s Ideas Festival launches today. Now it’s up and running, where will it go next?, Conservative Home, Thursday 21 September 2017

Four Somerset MPs join forces to fight £3.5m adult education cut, Somerset County Gazette, Sunday 24 September 2017

What will the new "fairer funding" schools formula mean for Somerset?, Somerset County Gazette, Sunday 24 September 2017

New housing building opens at Richard Huish College, Taunton, Somerset County Gazette, Sunday 24 September 2017

Conservative party chairman Sir Patrick McLoughlin in Taunton, Somerset County Gazette, Tuesday 26 September 2017

Re-ordering project at St John's Church, Taunton, Somerset County Gazette, Tuesday 26 September 2017

 

October

New patrons of TauntonArts charity include Sir Tim Rice, Michael Eavis and John Cullum, Somerset County Gazette, Tuesday 3 October 2017

Bridge at Fitzroy Woods military personnel retreat opened, Somerset County Gazette, Wednesday 4 October 2017

Rebecca Pow speaks at Conservative Party Conference ahead of Prime Minister, Somerset County Gazette, Wednesday 4 October 2017

Rebecca Pow says at Conservative Party Conference, in Manchester, Labour constituencies 'have no soil', Somerset County Gazette, Thursday 5 October 2017

Tory MP Rebecca Pow Claims Labour MPs Do Not Have ‘Soil’ In Their Constituencies, The Huffpost, Thursday 5 October 2017

Taunton Deane MP Rebecca Pow backs PM Theresa May amid 'unhelpful' leadership row, Somerset County Gazette, Saturday 7 October 2017

Wellington Natwest branch set to close its doors today, Somerset County Gazette, Monday 9 October 2017

Soils Alliance to be launched in Parliament, Horticulture Week, Thursday 12 October 2017

Weather warning forces Wellington Monument's 200th birthday bash inside, Somerset County Gazette, Friday 20 October 2017

LETTER: Success in appeal over school placement in Taunton, Somerset County Gazette, Monday 23 October 2017

Gove says UK cannot withstand further soil fertility loss, Horticulture Week, Monday 23 October 2017

Could the UK ornamental sector win tax breaks and grants to increase production?, Horticulture Week, Tuesday 24 October 2017

Ornamental sector representatives lobby parliamentarians on tax breaks, labour and water policies, Horticulture Week, Tuesday 24 October 2017

Viewers say Channel 4’s Bake Off is best, head of broadcaster tells MPs, The Guardian, Tuesday 24 October 2017

We didn't snatch Paul Hollywood and the Great British Bake-off, says Channel 4 boss, The Herald, Tuesday 24 October 2017

Rebecca Pow says Channel 4 'pinched' the Great British Bake Off from BBC, Somerset County Gazette, Wednesday 25 October 2017

Taunton Deane MP Rebecca Pow helps launch the Sustainable Soils Alliance, Somerset County Gazette, Wednesday 25 October 2017

Soil health wins government attention, Fruitnet, Wednesday 25 October 2017

Labour MP's pooch Rocky wins Westminster Dog of the Year crown, Sky News, Thursday 26 October 2017

Westminster Dog of the Year: Labour defeats Tories to claim coveted crown, London Evening Standard, Thursday 26 October 2017

Great British Bake Off reaches biggest young audience for TV series this year, The Guardian, Friday 27 October 2017

Head of Channel 4 says people like their Bake Off more than the BBC’s version, Radio Times, Friday 27 October 2017

 

November

The next generation: who are the Tory MPs waiting in the wings?, Politics Home, Friday 16 November 2017

Mark Roberts, of the Hankridge Arms, Taunton, in Parliamentary Pub Chef of the Year competition, Somerset County Gazette, Saturday 18 November 2017

Pupils’ lesson in democracy, Wellington Weekly News, Sunday 19 November 2017

Tributes to the fallen in Wellington, Wellington Weekly News, Sunday 19 November 2017

Confused about the A358? Taunton MP Rebecca Pow explains, Somerset County Gazette, Sunday 19 November 2017

INTERVIEW: Health secretary Jeremy Hunt impressed during visit to Taunton's Musgrove Park Hospital, Somerset County Gazette, Friday 24 November 2017

Taunton beekeepers buzzing at new pesticide plan, Somerset County Gazette, Tuesday 21 November 2017